Former Greenbank RSL sub-branch president Gary Aldridge receives Order of Australia Medal in 2021

GONG: Gary Aldridge.
GONG: Gary Aldridge.

A WAR veterans stalwart, Islamic community leader and dedicated doctor are the Logan and Scenic Rim residents recognised for their outstanding service this Australia Day.

They join legendary cricketer Greg Chappell, conservationist Professor Helene Marsh and entertainer Lorrae Desmond on the Australia Day Honours List.

Former Greenbank RSL sub-branch president Gary Aldridge was awarded an Order of Australia Medal in the general division, for services to war veterans and their families.

He has also served on the Greenbank sub-section of the Australian Naval Association.

Joining Mr Aldridge as an OAM is Underwood man Osman Rane, for his services to Queensland's Islamic community.

Tamborine Mountain doctor John Youngman has been recognised for services to medicine and medical administration.

There are 117 people on the list in 2021. Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk said a phenomenal number of Queenslanders had been recognised for memorable contributions to the state and nation.

"Australia Day is an opportunity to celebrate our homegrown success and recognise extraordinary individuals who have inspired us and motivated communities toward progress, innovation, compassion and kindness," Ms Palaszczuk said.

"This year's Australia Day Honours List has recognised 117 Queenslanders who exemplify the Australian spirit, and whose experiences reflect the incredible diversity of public life in Queensland.

"They are Queenslanders who have advocated on behalf of our veterans, who have led conservation efforts, who have nursed people through ill health, who have educated and empowered our young people, and who have entertained us on the sporting field, the stage and the screen.

"Today they join a prestigious list of Australians whose actions and ideas have shaped the nation for the better.

"I congratulate all the Queenslanders named in the 2021 Australia Day Honours List."

In 2021, six Queenslanders were appointed Officers (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia - Greg Chappell MBE, Professor Helene Marsh, Professor Paul Memmott, Dr Sally Pitkin, Dr Russell Reichelt and Emeritus Professor Kay Saunders AM.

Nineteen Queenslanders were recognised as Members (AM) in the General Division, including former Queensland Children's Hospital paediatric intensive care specialist Dr Bruce Lister, author and champion of children's literature Dr Robyn Sheahan-Bright and Gold Logie-winning actor and singer Lorrae Desmond MBE.

Queenslanders are encouraged to nominate members of their community for an Order of Australia throughout the year, in recognition of high achievement, professional contributions and charitable pursuits.